Applying for a Schengen Visa (Short Term)


A 'Schengen visa' is a visa for short stays (up to 90 days within a period of 180 days) in Germany and European countries within the Schengen area for tourism, visit or business purposes. You also have to apply for a Schengen visa in case you need to obtain an airport transit visa. 

According to the so-called Schengen Agreement, a Schengen visa allows you to stay in the following countries for up to 90 days within a period of 180 days: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Schengen Visa
Schengen Visa© Auswaertiges Amt

However, you always have to apply for a Schengen visa at the Embassy of the Member State which is your main destination in terms of length or purpose of stay. If no main destination can be determined, the visa has to be applied for at the Embassy of the Member State whose external border the applicant crosses first.

The following countries are NOT part of the Schengen area: Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland, Romania and the United Kingdom.

You can apply for a Schengen visa up to 90 days before your planned date of travel.

Please note that the German Embassy in general requires all applicants to schedule an appointment in order to apply for a visa. Appointments have to be booked via the free online appointment system

Under certain circumstances, applicants can also submit their visa applications without prior appointment. Further information is provided here

According to Art. 13 and 14 of Regulation (EU) 2016/679 (also known as: General Data Protection Regulation), information about the collection of personal information must be provided to visa applicants. To learn more about this topic, please read the Data Protection Information Sheet

The German Embassy in Accra accepts visa applications from nationals and residents of GHANA, LIBERIA and SIERRA LEONE.

The German Embassy in Accra issues Schengen visas on behalf of ESTONIA for residents of GHANA. Click here for more Information

Preparing your application

Top of page